Syndicate content

Ursula von der Leyen unveils new European Commission portfolios

Tuesday, 10 September, 2019 - 17:33

The future president of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, presented her new team of Commissioners on Tuesday, with an emphasis on  portfolios relating to climate and digitalization and with key jobs going to Italy, France and Ireland. 

There will be three executive vice presidents who will perform a dual function: acting as vice presidents in charge of one of the three fundamental areas of the elected president’s agenda as well as commissioners.

Executive Vice President Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) will coordinate the work on the European Green Deal, a priority of Von der Leyen’s which aims to move the EU towards a carbon neutral economy by 2050. Executive Vice President  Margrethe Vestager (Denmark) will coordinate the EU’s digital agenda and will be commissioner in charge of competition, supported by the Directorate General for Competition.

Executive Vice President Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia) will coordinate work on an inclusive economy and will be the commissioner responsible for financial services, with the support of the Directorate General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union.

The important portfolio of Economy rests with former Italian Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni, whose country has been at odds with Brussels for months over its high public debt. 

A veteran of Brussels as Commissioner of Agriculture,  Phil Hogan, takes the Commerce portfolio. As Agriculture Commissioner Hogan was involved in the signing of several free trade agreements with third countries and the management of commercial tensions with the United States. The choice of the Irish politician is particularly symbolic, since after Brexit the EU will have to negotiate a new commercial relationship with the United Kingdom, a process in which Hogan himself will play a fundamental role. 

Foreign Affairs goes to Spanish Socialist Josep Borrell, whose appointment was decided by European heads leaders at the same time as that of Ursula von der Leyen’s.

France’s Sylvie Goulard becomes European Commissioner for the Internal Market, a broad portfolio that encompasses industrial policy, the digital single market, as well as the defense and space industry.

Margaritis Schinas (Greece), from one of the countries in the forefront of migrant arrivals, will oversee migration issues.


FOREIGN POLICY – Josep Borrell (Spain)

VALUES/TRANSPARENCY – Vera Jourova (Czech Republic)


FINANCIAL SERVICES – Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia)

EUROPEAN WAY OF LIFE – Margaritis Schinas (Greece)

DEMOCRACY/DEMOGRAPHY – Dubravka Suica (Croatia)


BUDGET/ADMINISTRATION – Johannes Hahn (Austria)

JUSTICE – Didier Reynders (Belgium)

INNOVATION/YOUTH – Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria)

HEALTH – Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus)

ENERGY – Kadri Simson (Estonia)


NEIGHBORHOOD/ENLARGEMENT – Laszlo Trocsanyi (Hungary)

ENVIRONMENT/OCEANS – Virginijus Sinkievicius (Lithuania)

JOBS – Nicolas Schmit (Luxembourg)

EQUALITY – Helena Dalli (Malta)

AGRICULTURE – Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland)

COHESION/REFORMS – Elisa Ferreira (Portugal)

TRANSPORT – Rovana Plumb (Romania)

CRISIS MANAGEMENT – Janez Lenarcic (Slovenia)

HOME AFFAIRS – Ylva Johansson (Sweden)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *